Anima beyond fantasy character: Graham of the black eyes

I had challenged the reddit group forAnima beyond fantasy to create characters. I created one as well and will be posting that character as well as any new ideas I get in both places.

Here is my first character ( as seen here)

I decided to try my hand at someone with good visual skills. Normally when I make characters, I save the most important part of creation for last- fleshing out the actual person. For me, I like to look at the various options a setting provides then build my story around them. Because of this, I don’t have all of my details yet… but I did complete the character creation part of this.

For this process, I looked at Dominous and found the bloodline rules interesting. I decided to select the Eyes of Death Bloodline. So I have a character that was ‘Blessed’ with the ability to perceive the very mortal coil and can see how his actions affect it. I see Graham to be the sort of person that is struggling with the decision to fight because he knows far more than most just how precious the gift of life can be, yet he cant be a pacifist because many others could suffer if here were not to take action.

For stats I used the point buy method. I ended up with average Con, Wil and Power. His strength is a little above average at a 6. His intellect is at 7, so he is quite bright. He is quite gifted at both dex and Agi and his perception is almost unmatched at a 10.

For the Class I chose Ranger.

Now for creation points/advantages-

Eyes of death bloodline as mentioned before.

To keep with the theme of being a very observant person, I also took acute senses for my last free creation point.

Quick reflexes 1- Graham is actually quite swift.

Martial mastery 2- Graham’s is a natural at manipulating his KI in order to extend his abilities.

Disadvantages-

Bad luck. In general, Graham is just unlucky. One could say this steamed from his birth since he was born with the sight of death.

Insufferable- Graham can be a bit of a pessimist since he is constantly able to see the forces that connect life to the mortal coil. Many find his observations to be extremely uncomfortable and due to this I granted this advantage.

Phobia Undead- What makes the undead more of an abomination to someone like Graham is its blatant affront to the natural order and its manipulation of life’s precious forces.

Secondary abilities- As you can see, many of these focus on himself or the natural world. He is not the best people person and the disadvantage reinforces this. Graham is skilled in the following:

Athleticism

Notice

Search

Track

Animals

Herbal Lore

Medicine

Trap lore.

Ki- I plan on extending this to Presence and Aura extension later. For now, Graham has learned the following abilities:

Use of Ki

Ki control

Ki Detection

Erudition

Modules- I don’t recall if these come from the primary or secondary development points. These three end up costing a fortune however I think a good archer should have them. I may drop Hunt and take different class in order to take Bow plus short sword as that’s what I am really most interested in the Hunt module for a good point savings. He has the following Modules:

Hunt Module

Multi target

Additional attack

Thoughts on the past- Of course this revelation – to fight for others didn’t come over night. As a boy, Graham found himself orphaned at an early age. It was a place where the staff did as much as they possibly could with what little funding they had. Graham was one of three children there that were born with special gifts. Over time, the other two children vanished. One ran away and another was picked up by a member of the Church. Graham feared what would happen if they came from him and so he also ran away. He ran as far and as fast as he could into the night. He travelled this way, day and night until he eventually collapsed in a forest. It was here that he met Bannon, an old hunter whom took him in and taught him his ways. Bannon never judged him and took good care of Graham. Graham lived there for about 10 years, and would have stayed longer, however Graham’s talents once again started causing him problems. Bannon was already an older man when he took him in and each day, Graham began seeing the one man in his life’s life force drain bit by bit. Its one thing when you visit your parents after a long time and notice them aging. Its another when you can actually see their link to the mortal coil weaken daily. So Graham left, not wanting to see the day in which his cared one’s life link dissipate entirely. He also decided that he would find a way to use his talents to help those in need and if there are anyone else that were born with such a curse.

Leave a Reply

